Skip to content

YAY!!! Invite’s in the mail!!!

January 9, 2010

I woke up this morning expecting absolutely no word from the Peace Corps (I mean, it’s Saturday!). And guess what??? I pulled up my email and got a surprise Application Status Update! I rushed to login to my toolkit, and this is what I found:

peace corps invitation messageWith some more digging, I found out that the invite was mailed yesterday (Jan. 8th!). Yes, yes, yes!!! I cannot explain how excited I am (hence the ridiculous amount of exclamation points!). Did I mention, yeah!!!

I guess the next step is to guess where I might be going and when. Honestly, I have no idea. As I’ve mentioned, I was nominated for Central Asia leaving late March 2010 (so, Kyrgyz Republic). But I’ve been reading on some blogs how that country is filling up fast. Also, I just sent my PO an email on Thursday letting her know that I’m willing to go anywhere in the world. So…that kind of leaves the door wide open. I was nominated for University English Teaching, but I’m also not sure I’ll get that. Who knows? Who cares? I’m going somewhere to do something and it’s going to be awesome!!!

Oh, and for you guys and gals out there who are waiting for updates, here’s a random tidbit. My last two status update emails have come at 4:00am. I’m not sure if this is always the case, but if so it might help relieve some of that checking-your -email-every-five-seconds-for-an-update-syndrome (of which I was, until recently, a sufferer).

Anyway, that’s all for now. I have to go read through the rest of the new info on my toolkit!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. anonymous permalink
    January 9, 2010 5:33 pm

    congrats!!!!

  2. January 9, 2010 9:34 pm

    Mazel Tov! Their status updates are pre-programmed and are automatically generated. You will get more information dropped into your toolkit after you accept your invite – they add country-specific information, so watch for that. You get an e-mail update when that occurs too. Let’s keep in touch!

  3. January 9, 2010 9:37 pm

    By the way…THANKS for “advertising” my blog! I really have to get on my page and fancy it up a bit, add links and such like you did. I have not taken the time to make it pretty yet.

  4. January 10, 2010 8:51 am

    Thanks, we should definitely keep in touch! I’d love to travel to Ukraine!

  5. January 10, 2010 10:01 am

    Congrats! My updates always come at 5:30, New York time.

  6. Emily permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:20 am

    Congratulations!! 🙂

  7. jesseosmun permalink
    January 10, 2010 5:23 pm

    Congrats!

  8. January 11, 2010 9:31 am

    Congrats!

  9. January 11, 2010 12:26 pm

    Congratulations on your invite! I’m an English teacher in Moldova for grades 2nd through 9th and I’m loving it!

Leave a Reply

