Skip to content

Who’s On First?

January 31, 2010
Who's On First?

What did you say your name was?

So, I recently found out that my name (Kim or Ким) is the same as the word for “who” in Kyrgyz. What does that mean? Well, imagine I arrive at my host family’s house and they say, “What is your name?” (literally, your name who?). I’ll answer, “My name is Who.” They’ll say, “Who?” I’ll say, “Who!” And just like that we’ll descend into “Who’s On First” absurdity.

Rather than relive this Abbott and Costello classic, I’ve decided to go by a Russified/Kyrgyfied name once I get to Kyrgyzstan. That’s where you can help. What do you think my new name should be? Vote for your favorite on the poll below!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 12:07 pm

    A new name to go along with your new venture! Very exciting, Kim–ur, Zina.

  2. Emily permalink
    January 31, 2010 1:39 pm

    You should get your phd and then you’d be doctor who!!

  3. February 1, 2010 1:05 am

    Hi Kim! I’m going to Kyrgyzstan in March too (but for Health Education). Good luck on choosing a name, that’s very exciting! Looks like you’re way ahead of me on following the PC Kyrgyz blogs! I just started looking for winter clothes and am trying to find others for advice on packing, hence came across your blog (and now others). I’ll be following to see how you and others are preparing for the 2-year trip. Feel free to leave me a message at my blog, otherwise see you at staging!

  4. CXW permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:28 am

    Hi Kim,

    I’m assuming from most of the names that you’ve listed that you identify as female. Assuming this is the case, Azamat is probably off the list, since it’s normally a man’s name.

    Personally, I’d stick with Kim. People are used to foreigners having names that don’t translate well and will either just get on with it (possibly with a smile about it) or Kyrgyzify/Russify your name for you. Certainly that’s what they used to do with my name.

    I’m not a PCV, but met a lot of them both times I’ve lived in KG (2000-2001 and then 2005-2006) while studying/doing research and by and large they were a great bunch. Good luck with preparations and look forward reading more of your blog.

    CW

  5. judy permalink
    February 1, 2010 8:08 am

    oops! left my response with the wrong journal entry. I think you should keep a version of your name…Kimmie…Kimberly…My daughter has been in Kyrgyzstan for 17 months now and is looking forward to meeting the new arrivals in March.Keep up with your blog.I love reading about everyones experiences.Good luck!

  6. Holo permalink
    February 4, 2010 5:34 am

    I stumbled upon your site while curled up next to the coal burning stove in my house. Kyrgyzstan winters are cold. I’m a K-17 and have been here for 10 months. Luckily, kyrgyzstan has decent enough cell service to use my phone as a modem and dial up to internet. I live in a village. But you won’t have to worry about much since, as you mentioned, you will be a university tefl. You will be placed in one of the larger cities. You have one amazing adventure ahead of you! Feel free to email me if you have any questions – hhoopai@gmail.com. Don’t worry too much about the name. Your first host family will be more than happy to give you one. Cheers – holo.

  7. February 24, 2010 4:45 pm

    Thanks for all of the info. I guess I’ll hold off on choosing a name just yet, but it is fun to ponder 🙂

Leave a Reply

