Skip to content

Officially Unemployed…And Loving It!!!

February 24, 2010

Well, I am officially no longer a slave to the MAN! Friday was my last day, and since then I have never gotten so much done in my life (okay, in my life since I entered the 8-5 workforce). I know that everyone in America is obsessed with getting a job right now, and that I should count myself lucky for having ever gotten a good job in the first place. But I really don’t.

As a kid I always said that I wanted to grow up to be a starving artist, and I think I was onto something. I’ve never been into expensive things. I loathe fancy restaurants, over-priced clothes and anything that could be described as “bling.” I can live off of very little, so why not do it? And just to make sure I’ve got what it takes to live off of a less-than-full-time-job, I’m going to the Peace Corps (which is a full-time job, but doesn’t pay like one :)). I hope to learn some valuable lessons about living on the cheap during my two years in K-Stan, so that when I get back I can take up my official new job as a starving artist/traveler/whatever I feel like being at the time.

Yes, I know, I sound like a hippy, but so be it. I’M FREE!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 3:58 pm

    Hey, I know you totally don’t know me, but I saw your post on PCJ. I’m not currently in the process, but previously was, so I know how exciting it is after the long wait. I actually ended up declining my invitation for a couple reasons, only to be told I couldn’t receive another (I was probably one of the first people to have this happen to them, as they used to send up to 3 invites). I chose to go to China to teach in the mean time, which was great, and reapply when they allowed me to (Aug ’09). But in June I ended up getting engaged, and instead of reapplying in August, I came back home.

    Now its 2 months from my wedding, and I’m seriously wondering what I’m doing. Am I doing the right thing? I have never regretted turning down my invite, I did the right thing as for that particular invitation. However, not one day in the 2 years since have I not thought about joining the PC, done various work or volunteering to re-prep my future app. But my fiance is very “stay in one place” with North American travel being his limit, and the Peace Corps is not a word to be mentioned around him (he maintains I was trying to join the PC to get away from him, so to him PC is a bad word).

    Anyway, what I’m saying is now that all this has happened, I wonder what the right choice is for me. Declining that invite was the right choice, going to China was the right choice, and graduate school is the next right choice. But after that, is the right choice marrying him or joining the PC finally, after dreaming of it for years?

    So just from reading your blog post, it made me happy to see you write “I know that everyone in America is obsessed with getting a job right now, and that I should count myself lucky for having ever gotten a good job in the first place. But I really don’t. Yes, I know, I sound like a hippy, but so be it. I’M FREE!!!” Really happy 🙂 Its good that you do what you need to for you, even if its not the “norm.” Bravo

    P.S. I’ve seen the pictures of Kyrgyzstan from PCVs, and its the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen. The sky, the grass, the hills, amazing.

  2. February 28, 2010 6:52 pm

    Jenna, good luck on making a decision. I am definitely not someone who should ever give advice on relationships, but, no matter what, I think you should do what you’re passionate about. If that’s your fiance, then go for it! But if you’re always going to regret not joining the Peace Corps, then maybe it’s not time to get married yet. (But seriously, I am NOT an expert in this area). Just do what you can live with, and what makes you feel alive. That’s the best advice I’ve got 🙂

  3. March 4, 2010 6:09 pm

    Hi Kim!
    I love your blog. I’m seeing a whole new side to your personality.
    I hope you keep writing those weird books. I love them, too.
    G

  4. March 18, 2010 10:33 am

    Hey Kim,

    Well said. I went through a lot of the same feelings when I left my job after accepting an invite to PC KG. Enjoy your remaining days of freedom and I look forward to meeting you soon.

Leave a Reply

